Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought ( The “human” side of performing onstage)

Most times when I have to perform, I kind of have to  come out of myself in order to present myself. i realize that this may sound a little confusing, but entertainers often have to put on a smile and encourage the audience to smile during shows. Many times the audience won’t even realize what we have been through behind the scenes. When going to a show, how often do you hear the performers complain onstage or even give off a depressed persona? That’s because in our eyes “the show must go on.” While i admit this might sound a little “dehumanizing” this is still a “very” true statement. Over two weeks ago I had my birthday celebration and a lot of my friends came out in support. Two of those friends (their names were Ron Syncere and Chris Crizis) came out to perform and I was really happy to see them. However, Chris didn’t look well at all, and i was majorly concerned because right after they performed he left out to go back home. “Now I know why…” Chris passed away a couple of days ago. I was shocked to hear the news but I had to put things in perspective within my own heart. Obviously  he had been sick for a while. Even  though he was gravely ill, he still came out to see me and perform for my birthday that night. I realize that had to take a lot of love and a lot of strength. Last night I had to perform at the same place where I had my party and even though i needed to put up the facade that I was happy the entire night, deep inside i missed Chris. I sang one song in dedication to him (“it’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday” done originally by GC Cameron and later by Boyz iI Men) and from there on it was “smiles” the entire night. I am sharing this today because people sometimes think that the life of a performer is always glitzy and positive. We are just as human as everyone else. Years ago when  my mother died I had to perform that very same night. i could have easily just called out, but sitting at home with nothing to do would only have made matters worse. That evening i took requests and some lady came up to me and asked for a song by the Emotions entitled “You got the best of my love.” i said to her on the microphone “Do you see any female vocalists in  this band (we were all guys)? The Emotions (who I have actually played for) have vocal ranges so high that even a lot of females cannot hit those notes. While I was saying this I looked back at the keyboard player, and he knew through my eye contact what was coming next and he started smiling. I was trying to get out of funk from losing my mom, and this lady asked for a song that I would have been crazy to try to pull off. Well, we “did” the song, and i tried my best to “throw my voice out” singing it in the same key. The audience “loved it” and I had to admit that it was like medicine for me as well. Nothing can fully  erase the pain of losing a loved one, but sometimes ‘re-channeling that energy can make a “world of difference.” That being said, i just wanted to share with you that while we are all smiles onstage, that doesn’t mean that we don’t hurt on the inside. i will always be professional when it comes to my  onstage conduct. It is who I am and it is what I do… “Chris, my friend, i will miss you, and i hope you rest comfortably and eternally in God’s hands…

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

The Emotions and Brett Jolly in concert

The_motionsE016_edited-1

