Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“If I could visit the past to talk to myself”)

If you could go back in time to actually “have a discussion with yourself,” what would you say? I took a walk yesterday and actually pondered this question. Of course, no one can rewrite past history, but we can always continue to learn from it. I do remember when I was 10 years old I never wanted to grow up to be an adult. I thought that being an adult was going to make me “too square” or too “nerd-ish.” I couldn’t wait to be old enough to drive and I planned on being a “professional basketball player.” I would wake up at 6:00 in the morning and go across the street to play basketball ALL day long. My mother would have to come over to the courts at sunset to get me and bring me home. I didn’t care for girls much, if at all. They were too mushy for me. I wanted to go outside  at night and play with the older boys who were roaming the streets and forming gangs, but my parents would not let me out of the house that late at night. At my present age, I see why and I thank them so much for guiding me in that way. It is difficult to remember all my feelings at that age, but I really  wished back then that I could have had a discussion with a much more grown up version of myself. If that could have happened, then what would I have said to me? The older me probably would not have divulged  much to the younger me about the things that were going to happen in life, because if you could change one small thing in your own past it just  might have an extremely adverse effect on the person you are now. You see, all of our experiences (whether good or bad) combine to make us the people we are today. If you are brought  up around  hatred and violence, then  that becomes your world. No one who is born can survive without the help of someone to guide that life and those people influence how we are. If I could talk to a much younger me, I would simply say that while the  world may  not always seem fair, it is what you put into your life that determines what you get out of it. I would tell myself to “not worry” about other people who don’t care about you or hate you for their own personal reasons. I would let myself know that God may  not always give us what we want but he will often give us “what we need.” Finally, I would let myself know that even though the future will  NOT be perfect, it will at least be good enough to warrant making the journey. If there is anything that I would guide myself on, it would be one small “directive.” That directive would be to “Thank  your parents for a job well done…” You don’t have to be rich to be successful. You don’t have to be famous to be loved. To make it in this world you only need to be “true to yourself.” THAT is what  I would tell myself if I could go back in time… I realize that I will never be able to go visit the past, but I also realize that life is “by no means over.” With whatever time I have left on this realm, I will continue to strive for excellence in all I do. You get one life… Make it count for “something.” Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought today, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer today.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Rapper Chuck D (from the hit rap group “Public Enemy” featuring Flavor Flav) and Brett Jolly in concert

Chuck_D

