Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Can today’s performances do it like this anymore?”)

Yes, i do realize that I am from another “era.” I have seen the trends of music go through so many “different extremes” in my lifetime. I often wonder if the main reason I am “so critical” of today’s music is because I keep trying to “compare it” to the days when i “felt” music was at a higher level. I wanted to share the video below with you, not because of it’s great sound quality (the quality is fairly bad) and not because of the special effects (there are none) and not because of the lip syncing potential (this is one billion percent live) but rather to ask you whether or not “you” feel performances like this have improved or eradicated since this time. I want to share this because I don’t know of any modern day artists who can “do it like this” or still would even want to. This group is the legendary Temptations,  and they had a “string of hits” for Motown records. They performed under the concept that voices, presentation and movement were important to putting on a great show. I “love” this performance, but i also wonder if it is only because I was raised on it (or is it because this is actually good?). I would love to know what “you” think. Compared to today’s standard of performances, is this a step backwards or a step forward? Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always i wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Leave a Reply

