Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“How artists and musicians should prepare for touring”)

I remember being young and coming into my own as a musician. A performing artist by the name of Jean Carne asked me if I would go on tour with her. I was so excited about it. I kept thinking that I was going to hang out with “all the stars” and enjoy a great time doing what I loved to do. I had no idea about the “work and preparation” needed when it came to touring. I soon “found out…” We had a segment of gigs that we had to do in just a “couple of days.” I would love to tell you the very first city we went to but I “honestly can’t remember.” However, I “do” remember doing up to two shows a night, getting into my hotel room around 2:00 or 3:00 each night, only to have to wake up around 5:00 or 6:00 each morning just to catch the next plane to the next city. I was working on “fumes” but trying my best to ignore it. On day 5 of this tour I remember playing at the Riverbend outside venue in Cincinnati, Ohio. We were “opening up for the great jazz guitarist George Benson (who was one of the nicest celebrities i ever met). When it came time for us to perform, I couldn’t believe what I was experiencing. I was “so exhausted” that I was actually “falling asleep while playing… standing up.” My head would go down (and then jerk back up) while playing and as much as I tried to smile and look happy, I was anything but. As for “‘all those stars” that I was expecting to hang with, unless they were on the same show with us I never got to hang with any of them. Then when it came to meeting interesting people I would come up empty on that end as well. Once the concert is over, everyone “leaves.” i was backstage waiting for the limo to come get us (which on many occasions wasn’t even ready to take us back after we were finished). I was getting a real “crash course” on how to “properly prepare for touring.” I also learned that you can’t “take a lot of items with you” because everything that you take you also have to “carry.” I had packed stuff that i didn’t even need, and with that I learned to “travel lightly.” I think the worst fatigue trip I had was when we went to London. We left from  the Newark airport at 10:00 PM. I remember at 1:00 AM my time seeing “extremely bright sunshine” through the airplane windows. I didn’t sleep the entire trip and once we got there they were 5 hours ahead of us time-wise. Needless to say, I was ‘jacked up.” I was really tired and didn’t know when to sleep or even wake up. I learned a great lesson from this trip. It is easy to see how a performer could turn to drugs just to cope with a hectic touring schedule. I had no intentions of going that route, but I had to find a better way to get my rest in between destinations. I hardly tour now. The economy is not the same anymore and while some still do tour it is not like it once used to be for most performers. I just wanted to share this for any “future performers or musicians” who are “hyped” about the prospect of touring. Please make sure to make the proper preparations so that you can survive the ordeal. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always i wish the very best to you that life has to offer today.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Jean Carne and Brett Jolly in concert

Jean Carne

Leave a Reply

