Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“A story about Grover Washington Jr. and Gerald Albright”)

I think I have already mentioned my affiliation with the late great jazz saxophonist Grover Washington, Jr. He would do things like “give me free tickets” to 76ers basketball games and and he once referred to me as “Marcus” (in respect to Marcus Miller,the great bass guitarist). During that era I was “just starting” to come into my own as a bass player, and he had a monster bassist already playing for him. All in all I probably only did about 10 gigs playing for him, but he was a truly great artist to perform for. Right now I would like to tell you a little story. For those of you who do “not” know of him, Gerald Albright is a “monster” saxophonist who also plays other instruments. He is a very well known jazz artist and during that time he was “great friends” with Grover. Well, one day my band was scheduled to do a musical tribute to Grover, and we were playing behind Gerald. Grover knew that there was going to be a tribute to him, but didn’t know how it was going to be done or “who” was going to do it. Gerald had called Grover that day just to “shoot the breeze” with him. Grover explained to Gerald that he had some kind of tribute thing that he needed to attend. Gerald laughed, shrugged it off and said, “Hey man, I will talk to you later on. I have to do something for a friend of mine.” Well, lo and behold, Grover was “very” surprised to see and hear Gerald covering his tunes in concert. It was a real magical night, and Gerald sounded “awesome” while we were all kicking it out onstage. I actually have the event on VCR tape somewhere around here and if I can ever find a way to convert it to a CD or file of some kind I might be able to share it with you one day. It was a beautiful night and Grover, along with his manager/wife Christine, “loved” it. I found out later that Gerald Albright had actually “recorded” a CD “in tribute” to Grover, and while I did not get the opportunity to perform on that recording, I can honestly say that I at least “played the tunes with him before that CD ever came out.” I hope you get the chance to Google Gerald Albright. For jazz lovers you will “not” be disappointed. This is just another of those “small” music stories that I wanted to share with you today, and I hope your don’t mind me sharing. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always i wish the very best that life has to offer you today.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Grover Washington Jr., brother Bill Jolly and Brett Jolly

Grover_Washington_and_Brett_Jolly

Leave a Reply

