Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Trying to live life stress free”)

This is my own personal definition of “stress: That which you allow others to put on you…” In this business of music (or probably in any other business as well) you are bound to encounter people who just “don’t want you to smile.” They try to continually put pressure on you to get more productivity out of you, and in their eyes that is the way businesses should be conducted. They are not interested in your happiness and they get off on having control over you. These people could be bosses, supervisors, family  members, friends or anyone who loves to make you just as miserable as he or she is. They often consider themselves to be experts in your field, even if in reality they don’t know squat. They thrive over having jurisdiction over your life. The deep part about this is that they can “only succeed” as far as you allow them. I am sure you know several people who are “never happy” unless they are “miserable.” While they have the right to feel the way they do they “shouldn’t” have the right to make you feel that way. What can you do to alleviate the pain and suffering that these people bring? The first thing is to “recognize” who you are dealing with. Is this person a boss or supervisor, and if so, does he or she have the necessary “qualifications” to be in that position? A LOT of employees work for people who are “dumb as a bat” and yet there isn’t much that can done about that. For these types of people it is “always best” to make “notations” about everything you are asked to do, because when things are not done right you can rest assured there will be an investigation and it is extremely advisable to make sure you have “your house” in order. Whenever your boss tells you to do something that you “know” isn’t correct, make sure to let others know. When the crap hits the fan it is always important to have “witnesses who know the truth.” Finally, if you have to, don’t be afraid to go “above the heads” of your supervisors to report wrongdoing. That way they can conduct their own investigations based on the knowledge that you have provided for them. I have personally worked for music people who will try to tell me what I should be playing. The truth of the matter is that i have perfect pitch, and I should be the one “telling THEM” what the correct notes are. For these people I often just try to give them “what they want” even if they “don’t even KNOW what they want.” No matter what, I refuse to let myself get as hyped and stressed out as they are. They worry, they fret, they make faces and weird gestures. I just do what I do, and I do it right. “No stress, Mon!” I hope you are living a stress free life and occupation as well. It is important for your health to be calm whenever possible. I love what I do, and I plan to be happy doing it. I apologize if that offends anyone. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer. Please make the most of it today.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

James Ingram and Brett Jolly (behind is Sheldon Reynolds, formerly of Earth, Wind and fire and Johnny Croom, former music director for Boyz II Men, Allyah and Genuine)

James Ingram

Leave a Reply

