Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“A night with New Edition, Whitney Houston and Usher”)

I once played for this function/award show where we were doing a tribute to the 90’s group sensation “New Edition.” They had major hits like “Mr. Telephone Man, Boyz II Men, Count me out” and much more. i believe the event took place in Washington, DC (even though my memory might not be all that accurate). We had to perform medleys of New Edition tunes behind a young group called “the youngzters” featuring an artist that some of you “may have heard of.” That  young artist just “happened” to be “Usher.” Yes, I performed with Usher while he sang a tribute to New Edition. I really had no idea what to expect, but I just handled it like I did for most gigs and just “prepared” for “anything.” When we did the sound check, everything went smoothly. The music sounded great and everyone seemed please. Then I got a tap on my shoulder from behind, and lo and behold, it was Usher. He asked me if I could come into the back green room with him to talk for a moment. He said that there was a certain part of a particular song that he wanted me to create a sound effect for. He then tried to “mouth” the sound and I knew immediately what he wanted. I responded by saying, “You must want a bass slide during that part.” He looked at me, smiled and said “Yeah, that’s it! A bass slide. Can you hook me up?” I just simply said “i got you covered” and went on my way. When it came time to perform  the show, i noticed the group New Edition sitting together in the front row, but I noticed that Bobby Brown was at the other end of the row with a female who looked “very” familiar. He was sitting with Whitney Houston, his arms embraced around her knee. The funny part was that even though he had his arms all around Whitney, he kept looking down the aisles at the sexy legs of the other women on the row. Whitney looked “thin” and while we were playing I saw her head bob to the music. Then I had a revelation. Whitney’s hair “tilted” to an angle. I saw her take her two hands to the side of her face and “straighten” her hair up. That was when it dawned on me that “Whitney wore a wig.” Okay, maybe I am saying too much now (smile). Anyway, the evening went great and during intermission i got the chance to meet Bobby Brown and Johnny Gil.  Bobby had a drink in his hand and said, “Man, you are awesome. If i can get a few more brews in me then I will be coming onstage to jam with you.” We just laughed, and I managed to take a picture with him and Johnny. All in all it was a special night, and one worth remembering. My only regret for this evening was that I never got the opportunity to take a picture with Usher. After the show he thanked me for hitting that special effect for him. I hope you don’t mind me sharing my stories with you and I thank you for checking out my Daily Thought today. As always, i wish you the very best that life has to offer. Please make the most of it.

Johnny Gil, Brett Jolly, and Bobby Brown

brett_and_celebrities_001

Leave a Reply

