Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Spotlight on Bruno Mars new tune Uptown Funk”)

Today I would love to do a “musical spotlight” on a new tune by an artist that I still consider to be “a baby” even  though his career has already been established and seems to be heading towards the next plateau. As a performer, I started liking Bruno Mars when I first saw his performance at the Super Bowl. I had no idea what this young kid could do, but I saw flashes of Prince, Michael Jackson, and even a little James Brown in him. In this new generation of artists, it is “rare” to see “anyone” who will even “sing live” to begin with. Bruno has a voice and he has showmanship and above all, “he performs.” When I heard his new single “Uptown Funk,” I waited to see what would happen with it before making a judgment. You see, since I am from “another era” I didn’t want to show any favoritism to this track. After all, the last time I heard any reference to “funk” during a “current radio played tune” was many years ago. I even once wrote a song entitled “If I could bring funk back.” Well, lo and behold, Bruno Mars has done it. I love the tune, but my first thought was “This doesn’t fit the mold of today’s current music. It sounds too live recorded. It sounds too creative. It wasn’t bland enough to fit today’s style of music.” Needless to say, people are loving the  tune, and I may even consider covering it myself. The beat of the song is strong even though I would have loved even “more” instrumentation to go with this mostly  vocal and drums song (and even featuring horns…can you imagine that?). Some of the lyrics are a “tad” bit corny to me, but that doesn’t stop it from being a great song. At this point I am waiting to see how the “rest” of the industry “reacts.” With the music industry, there is usually a lot of “follow the leader” going on, because if one artist comes up with a relatively new style of hit, then everyone else usually takes notice and starts to emulate the same formula. That is why I got tired of hearing all these artists come out with songs that sound like they are either sleep or drunk after Beyonce released “Drunk in Love.” If you have not heard Bruno’s new song, I invite you to check out the video. I love the way that was done as well. I realize that I am from a whole “other” generation so I didn’t want to sound “grandfatherly” in my assessment of tunes. Considering the quality of the music that I have been hearing, it is refreshing to me to hear this song getting airplay. I “only hope” that it is a huge success and that some of these other “lame ducks” step up their game to be “equally as exciting” with their music. I already know that the industry is more about “marketing” than they are “talent” but I am pleasantly shocked and surprised to see Bruno pull this song out of his hat. Stay tuned to see what happens next. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always, I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly with Estelle in the background (“American Boy”) at sound check

estelle 9j

Leave a Reply

