Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Putting people in check when you have to”)

When it comes to other peoples expectations of you, I often find that a “lot” of people have them. They expect you to live your own life in accordance to how “they” see fit, knowing fully well that “no one” is living the “perfect life, especially them.” For my own personal experience, I even have people who can’t make out bass lines as well as I do actually try to “tell” me how it should be done. When that happens, I just look at them and think to myself “You really don’t have a clue, do you?” Please don’t get me wrong… I am really not cocky at all, and I am a firm believer that I am “still” learning how to improve my craft. It’s just that one of the things I can do “really well” is hear bass lines in a song. Most times I will know them “precisely” right after hearing the song without even having to pick up my instrument to learn it. That ability has gotten me “lots” of gigs with big name artists and local bands. I am saying this today because the world is “full” of experts when it comes to what “you” do. They may not have done it as long as you have, or as well as you have, but in their minds they still try to come off as “experts.” What should you do when you come across one of these “specially gifted” people? It depends… Most times these people don’t want to feel “embarrassed” in front of others, so if they are nice about it I may wait until I get them in private to let them know they were wrong. However, some of these people have “swag” and will have no reservations whatsoever about trying to belittle you in public. That is when i have to put a person in his place right then and there. “You can tell me anything, but you can’t make me BELIEVE everything.” I will have no problem challenging anyone when it comes to what I know and hear. If you know of people who can’t manage their own lives but seem Hell bent on managing yours, I hope you can find a way to set them straight. I like to respect everyone, but i would not like for my respect or kindness to be taken for weakness. I will also respect your right to be totally “wrong” when it comes to what you “think” I should be doing. If you know of someone who fits this character mold (and we ALL do) then I hope you can find a way to “respectfully” put them in check. As wrong as these people are the world needs them to offset “balance.” Once they cross the threshold or respect with you, then by ALL means do “what you have to do.” i know i will… Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought today, and as always, I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly and actress Gabrielle Union

Gabrielle Union and Brett Jolly

Leave a Reply

