Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Please be careful, the scam artists have already started”)

While this year should have a very festive atmosphere about it, I hope that everyone stays alert for those people with “ulterior  motives.” Yesterday I traveled to pick my daughter up from school, and at one point I turned left down a road. Well, after turning, I happened to notice a figure running out towards my car kind of fast. I wasn’t sure what was on his  mind, but then I heard a “bang” noise, much like someone “punching” my car. This was done towards the “back end” of my vehicle, and I was immediately “livid.” I stopped the car “in the middle of the street” and got out to confront this man. He was a younger guy, but dressed rather raggedy, as though he might actually have been homeless… He was leaning against the wall of the building holding his stomach, and my very first words to him were “Just WHAT is your problem?”  He responded by saying, “You hit  me, you hit me.” Before he could even get fully into his dialogue, I interrupted him to say, “Nice try, but in order to hit you, the impact to my car would have had to been near the “front” and NOT the back… “You will  not sucker me into getting any money, but I  AM about to hit you FOR REAL…” I pointed my finger in his face and said, “You have  about 5 seconds to get out of here and if I still see you then you will see a side of me that my kids never knew existed.” He got scared quickly, and started apologizing a lot. He then realized that the longer he stayed there the angrier I got, so he started running while still shouting out apologies. For a man who “supposedly” got hit by a car he seemed to be able to run “rather fast.” I am not mentioning this story to get any kudos or a pat on the back. The truth of the matter is that what I did was actually “very foolish.” This guy could have had a gun or he could have had friends waiting around the corner for me. I was “extremely” mad and upset, and I didn’t think before acting. I  just have a problem with people trying to run a scam game on me and thinking they can just get away with it. The bad part about this was that I was actually mad enough to literally punch the fool out of him, and I should never have gotten to that level. I apologized to my kids and I took time to think about the situation later. I am mentioning this today because during this time of year there will be many “scam artists” out there trying to get your money through devious methods. It is important every time someone tells you that you “won a great prize” and then ask you for your credit card number to think about it before proceeding. It is important whenever you are in a mall and someone bumps into you to make sure you check your wallets and purses, because that is a prime example of how pickpockets work. It is important to note that whenever someone is selling you a great necklace or watch on the street that those goods just “might” be stolen from someone or someplace. ‘Tis the season to “be careful” and I would hate to see anything bad happen to good people. Yesterday I was tired from a long trip, and I was vulnerable. I did not make the right decision and I got lucky this time. I have to do better next time. I hope that you are all careful with whatever you do this holiday season. They are out there “waiting” for us… We need to be prepared… Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always, I wish you the very best that life has to offer….

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Patti Labelle and Brett Jolly in concert

Patti Labelle and Brett

Leave a Reply

