Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“The report on the use of torture… Are you surprised?”)

I awoke this morning to find out that there is some kind of interrogation report involving torture tactics used by the Bush administration for detainees  and alleged terrorists that had been captured. For those of you who have no idea  how horrific the tactics were, just check out the link below for the disturbing details:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/12/09/senate-torture-report-details_n_6295396.html

Should torture be used a means of interrogation? To a great degree, some form of torture is already applied when it comes to authorities seeking information. Even if you are sitting in a room being questioned about a particular situation by detectives, I have  heard that they will often question a person for “hours” in order to obtain information. Just that principle itself could be considered torture for the person being interrogated for such a long period of time. So with that being the case, to what “degree” should torture take place? The Obama administration says that “This is not who we are.” However, if we have done it, then “This is what we became at one point.” I am not a big fan of torture, but I am not a big fan of terrorism either. If we are trying to save the lives of others, should we truly rule out the use of torture to extract information? Many people may be surprised at this report and the details from it, but I am not. I have never believed that governments are so innocent that they would never resort to devious measures. When it came to spying on people’s personal phone conversations, I was not surprised to hear that we were spying. When it comes to torture tactics, I am not surprised either. I remember the deposed leader from Panama by the name of Noriega (Remember him?). He was captured and removed from his position of leadership. He had threatened to tell all about our illegal government involvement at trial, thus exposing secrets that had been hidden. Have you ever  heard about his trial? I sure haven’t, but I do know that he is currently incarcerated by our government. I am firmly convinced that “no” government should be considered “saintly.” Torture may not be ethical to use by any means, but I think  most of us would be foolish to think that it will never be used again. It will be interesting to hear the public backlash on this report. Until then, I will continue to keep my eyes  “and my mind” open to who and what we are, and what we have done… I thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always, I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly and Kathy Sledge (from Sister Sledge… she sang lead on “We are Family”)

Kathy Sledge and Brett

Leave a Reply

