Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Topic: “My car mirror was stolen”)

I awoke the other morning and decided to go out to my car. I sat inside of it for a second and then happened to look at the passenger window only to find that my outside car mirror was “missing.” Yes, I had actually been vandalized for the mirror to the other side of my car, and this actually happened during the night right in front of my own house. A sense of violation came over me immediately, and I had serious thoughts of what I would have done to the perpetrators if I had only caught them in the act. Never mind the fact that he or they could have had a gun (or  might have actually been stronger than me). My mind was convinced that if I had confronted them then just the adrenaline from the anger I felt would have been “more than sufficient” to beat them within a fraction of non existence.  I remember many years ago I looked out my window to see someone breaking into my father’s car. I ran out the front door wearing 10 pound ankle weights on each leg and STILL caught the guy who was trying to steal it. By the time he made it to the top of the hill I had him, and it was only “pure anger” that gave me the strength to catch him with weights on. I dragged him back down to the house where we waited for police to take him away. Now let’s cut back to the present time. For this particular incident I did not get to see who did it, but I do know that they were professional thieves when it came to dismantling mirrors. They actually managed to unscrew it without damaging the wires. My car is a Nissan Cube (which are somewhat rare), so I know they could only use that mirror for another Cube  much like mine. So many emotions went through my mind and even I have to admit that it took a minute (actually, a LOT longer than that) for me to regain my composure. I was upset, I was angry, and I wanted vengeance… Now that I have had time to think about it I realize that those people who stole the mirror “will” eventually get caught, because it is obvious that these guys steal from other cars as well (probably to sell the parts). As badly as I wanted to hurt them it became obvious that these people probably had the wrong upbringing and that is why they turned to crime. Yes, they got me, and there is probably not much that can be done about it. I still feel a sense of anger, but to some degree I am glad that I did NOT happen to see the perpetrators who did this. I could have been injured or even killed, or I might have seriously injured or killed one of them out of anger (and then I would be the one who could possibly go to prison). However, that doesn’t mean that I should let these guys go without taking some kind of action against them. After regaining my calm state and mind and using my powers of rationalization, I came up with the conclusion that I would “pray” for them. I am not quite sure how (and I may never know for sure when) but somehow, someway… It just feels like that was “just enough.” There will always be people who have no regard for you, your family or your circumstances. They might deserve your anger, but your prayers they will probably not expect. Today is a new day, and I need a mirror for my car… but I’m “alive”… Have a great day, everyone, and today I wish you the very best that life has to offer…

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Janet Jackson and Brett Jolly

Brett&Janet

Leave a Reply

