Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Topic: Professional entertainers and women)

I just knew that one day I would have to talk about this, so I guess today must be “that” day.” I have been asked repeatedly to talk about the stereotypes of professional musicians and women. I was also asked to share my own personal experiences from when I went touring. First let me say this: When  I went on my first tour I was very young, and eager to see what the world had to offer. I was traveling by plane each day, and many times I would get in to my hotel room around 2:00 or 3:00 am only to often have to wake up around 6:00 or 7:00 am just so we could catch the next plane to the next city. There are places that I honestly cannot tell you if I have been there or not, because I just can’t remember. I do remember going on my first tour with Jean Carn, and one of the first places we went to was London, England. It was a very nice place (even though it rained quite a bit) and the people were very friendly. After we performed our very first show, this incredibly pretty woman came up to me. She didn’t even know my name (and she didn’t even ask either). She did want to know if I would take her back to the dressing room so that we “could have a good time together.” A “red flag” went up “immediately on this one, and even though she looked great I “had” to turn her down cold. It was a good thing I did. Right after I rejected her, then she then went to the “other” band members to ask the very same thing. Needless to say, we ALL turned  her down, but it gave us a startling introduction into how the life of a touring musician can be. I remember  not long ago after that being in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. We were doing a show there and afterwards I met 3 lovely ladies who seemed really nice at the time. We talked for a little bit and they asked me if they could buy me a drink. I saw no  harm in it, especially since my strongest drink was an orange juice. Well, they went and bought me an orange juice, but something wasn’t quite right. I know my orange juice VERY well and after one sip I detected something different. I told the ladies that I would be right back and I snuck off to ask the bartender to find out what was in my drink. The bartender told me that it was “not” just orange juice that the girls asked for, so now I realized that these women tried to spike my drink. I am not sure of what they wanted but I do know what they got… “nothing.”  I was in Vegas heading onstage when a woman rushed up to me and grabbed my arm. She didn’t know me at all but she hung on for dear life. I just looked down at her and said, “Baby, honestly, you REALLY got to let go of my arm.” She wouldn’t do it and security asked me  how I wanted them to handle the situation. I just told them that they need to do what they need to do, because this woman was “NOT” letting go, so they had to literally “pry” her off me. Also there was the time when I was in Brazil and a young lady wanted my autograph (but she had no paper for me to write on). I am sure you can figure this one out, and needless to say, I wrote my name out as long as i could write it (smile). To make a long story short, I have also had knocks on my hotel room late at night from women who just “happened” to find out where I was staying (and no, I did NOT tell them). I have also been “flashed” on several occasions, grabbed AND groped. For the record, I have not lived this long being reckless, and I had a great upbringing by my parents. However, this music business alerted me to the fact that people will fall in love with “what you represent” without even knowing “who you are.” Many of these women were willing to hook up with me as soon as I got off the plane. I am not saying this to brag by any means, because this is really nothing great to brag about. People should know better. When it comes to entertainers, sports athletes, politicians and people in prominent status positions we sometimes fail to know that they are just as human as anyone else. These are only “some” of the stories that I have from being a professional musician and I only posted this today because a lot of people asked me to talk about it.   In NO way do I promote this type of lifestyle and I want to make that clear before people start to judge me unfairly. Yes, I am a professional musician and proud of it, but that does NOT mean that I fit the stereotypes often attributed to this field. Thank you for understanding and I wish you a great day today.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Jean Carn and Brett Jolly in concert

Jean Carne

One thought on “Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Topic: Professional entertainers and women)

  1. Mr. Jolly more musicians should be like you. Keep being that good example!

Leave a Reply

