Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Topic: “Playing in New York City tonight”)

For those of you  who might reside in the New York City area, tonight I have a gig scheduled at the World Cafe Live in Manhattan. This gig will be a little different for me because I am playing with some kind of “tribute band” dedicated to the music of Jimi Hendrix. I have never considered myself to be a mostly rock player (but yet I am willing to play anything and everything) and most people will tell you that I tend to take most challenges “head on.” I have performed with this band before, but the gig we did was only for one set. Tonight I will be expected to play a whole show of Hendrix music that I am not sure I even know fully yet. I must admit that after listening to his music I truly admire his genius. Yes, even though I heard he had some major drug issues in his life the music he wrote was extraordinary. Very “few” artists impress me in that manner, but I can  now say that I am adding “jimi Hendrix to that list. When performing, my main motto is to “always have fun.” If the gig is too stressful then I don’t care how much it is paying. At that point I would rather leave it alone (and if need be, stay broke). I believe this is a late night gig (I think we start at 9:00 tonight) so I will make sure to get enough rest beforehand. This band asked me to play for them because of my resemblance to Billy Cox (who was Jimi’s bass player) and because of my ability to play the music (which is highly complex to play). I just recently looked up Mr. Cox”s picture online and while there is a little resemblance I am going in tonight fully prepared to just “be me.” If anyone reading this resides in the New York City area, I invite you to come out tonight and watch me “mess these tunes up unreal.” No, I seriously expect to do this right, and I always give my best for shows. Hopefully it will be a fun experience and I will let you know how it turns out. For those who live too far away, I invite you to check out the music of Jimi Hendrix. If you can stomach the loud rock guitar, you will actually find  some awesome “musical flavor” in his tunes.  Even though his life was troubled, he was no different than Marvin Gaye or Amy Winehouse. All of them were treasures that we lost way too soon. Well, I have to get myself ready, because I have to sing some numbers tonight as well. Have a great day, and a great tomorrow.

 

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

The late singer Gerald Levert and Brett Jolly in concert

 

Leave a Reply

