Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Topic: relatives of lost legends)

nteresting week for me. This past Wednesday I performed at my usual Wednesday night event, but I was quite surprised to find Christine Washington, the wife and former manager of the late great saxophonist Grover Washington, Jr., in attendance. I had not seen her in years and she looked good. Well, needless to say, the band decided that for our first set we would honor her husband, and we played all Grover songs. I got on the microphone and told the audience to give her a big round of applause for her sharing her husband with the rest of the world. I also mentioned some special stories about Grover and me back in the day. She loved hearing us play her husbands music and of course we kicked it out. It was a very special moment. Tonight I have a gig behind the “children” of two great legends. I  had the chance to rehearse yesterday behind Theresa, who is the “daughter” of the late Minnie Riperton. At practice it was amazing just to hear the resemblance in her voice to her mother (and the physical resemblance as well). Then we had the chance to rehearse behind the late Jackie Wilson’s son, Bobby. Bobby looks just like his dad and sounded a lot like him as well. When talking to him I actually felt like I was talking to Jackie. Of course, this wasn’t the first time that I played behind the child of a lost legend. Years ago at an award show I performed “Sitting on the Dock of the Bay” with Otis Redding’s son “Dexter Redding.” While it wasn’t Otis, it still felt special. No living legend lasts forever, and if the children can pick up the slack then by all means I think they should just “go for it.” Even though I am feeling a little “under the weather” today I still hope to make this evening special. I hope you don’t mind me sharing my experience with you today and I wish you the very best that this day can bring.

 

WWW,Brettjolly.com

Grover Washington Jr., my brother Bill Jolly, and Brett Jolly

Image

Leave a Reply

