Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Topic: The lifestyle of being a musician)

Mr. Jolly, I would like to know about the other side of a successful music career. There was a movie out that said that “all musicians are  whores.” They say that musicians live the wild life and are totally reckless. I don’t know if this is you or not, but can  you tell us what it is like from the social side to be a successful musician?  How do women treat you and how do  musicians treat them? Is it also a drug filled world? Please  give us the juicy details. Thank you.

I am not sure of what you would consider “juicy” details, but I will say that with just about “any” profession there are usually stereotypes. When the trash workers come down my street to collect sanitation hardly anyone ever acknowledges them. The sad part is that they are so used to it. I always like to say hello whenever  I see them, and sometimes that seems to shock them. I even  had a discussion with them one day to let them know that they are no different than I am and they let me know that they really appreciated me saying that. Everyone needs a hustle to make it in this world and for many people our “hustle” seems to “define” us. I am saying this to state that we “all” have stereotypes about “something.” That doesn’t meant that those stereotypes are always “true.” Yes, I am a professional musician. Yes, I  have been around drugs, crazy folk and women. However, just because my profession often places me in this atmosphere doesn’t mean that I am a byproduct of it. I remember years ago I was performing in London (with Jean Carne) and after the show this “beautiful” woman came up to me, didn’t even ask  my name, but wanted to know if she could spend time with me in the dressing room. She looked great, but something just didn’t feel right about her. I politely declined her offer, and was glad that I did. Right after I rejected her, she immediately went to the “other” members of the band to request the same thing. In my personal career I can  honestly say that I have been “groped, grabbed and flashed” on “many” occasions.  I have had strange women knock on my hotel door in the middle of the night. I can even say that I have had women that I didn’t even know actually “fight” over me before I could even formally meet them. For the record, I do not drink at all, and I have never done drugs. A lot of my musician friends have done so, but they are “not” me… The situation here is that whenever I perform onstage, there is a big difference between “what I represent to some people” and “who I really am.” Sometimes women think that I actually  want to go to wild parties, drink and get high. For me, that is “far” from the truth. When I toured, I often declined to go to any “after parties” and instead went to my hotel room to actually sleep for the night after the gig was over. I have no desire to “conquer anyone.” I hope that this will “enlighten” people that to the fact that “what works for one doesn’t necessarily work for EVERY one” and also that you should just a book by the “cover alone.” If anyone wants to know about me, I have no problem with him or her just asking. Making assumptions that I am defined by my career is unfair to me, because to judge me  without getting to know me only “defines you.” The musician lifestyle might pertain to many others, but that doesn’t mean that it fits me… Thank you all for checking out my Daily Thought, and I hope you have a wonderful day today.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Jean Carne and Brett Jolly in concert

Image

Leave a Reply

