Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Topic: Child now off to college)

I just recently had to experience what “most” parents have to experience at some point in their lives. My youngest child left me and went away to college. There were so many different emotions that I went through but it definitely is an adjustment for me. I was kind of sad because it means my youngest has now grown up and is (to some degree) on her own. I think this is the toughest part that a parent has to go through. You realize that at “some” point you have to “let them go” so that they can have the same opportunities to make the “same mistakes” we made growing up.  As “worrisome” as that sounds it must still be allowed, because the one thing a parent should “never” try to do is “live your life” through your siblings. Part of me was elated because now I no longer have to wake up early in the morning to take her to school. After doing late night gigs it is really tough to wake up early and run all over the place. The other emotion I feel is “worry” because it feels as though I am “now getting old.” The truth of the matter is that I  “am” actually getting “older” (We all are) but as long as I can still enjoy life, then that is what I aim to do. Having my daughter away at college does free me from certain responsibilities now. Needless to say, I am supportive and I talk to her frequently. She is happy where she is and of course, at some point I will need to go visit her. As a parent, it is a beautiful feeling when you have kids that have “never” abused drugs, committed a crime and graduated from school. I am proud of all 3 of my children and I love them without hesitation or pause. My other 2 have jobs and respectable lives and for me I couldn’t be happier. The amazing part is that “NOW” I know how my parents felt when it came to me growing up. Life is funny that way. If you are a parent whose child has grown up, I hope you are able to make that “transition” to “let that child go” and be “happy about what you have done.” It is never an easy task to be a parent but as long as you know that it takes dedication, love and some STRONG perseverance then you have the tools to make it work. Congratulations to my daughter, Melody Jolly, for reaching the final piece of her education and making me the “proud and happy” father that I am. I only hope that those of you reading this today can one day feel that same sense of “euphoria.” Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought today, and I hope your day is awesome.

 

Got a topic? Feel free to contact me via email at Brettjolly@aol.com or you can send me a friend request on Skype at Brettjolly1. Thank you and have a great day.

Singer Chuck Jackson (His hit was “any day now”) and Brett jolly

Image